top of page

Announcing our 2016 Teacher Scholarship Winners!

The last JASP scholarship was accepted today, so we now have our final list of 10 scholarship winners.  These winners will receive full tuition for the 2016 JASP, 3 CEU credits, and a complementary ticket to our Afternoon Tea.  We are excited that they want to develop courses teaching Austen in our public schools around the state.

Middle school

  1. Amanda Long, Lewis Chapel Middle School, Fayetteville, NC

  2. Michele S. Nease, Voyager Academy, Durham, NC

  3. Hannah Richards, Margaret B. Pollard Middle School, Chapel Hill, NC (Chatham County) [student teacher]

High school

  1. Desiree D. Corbett, Grimsley High School, Greensboro, NC

  2. Stephanie Cotton, Haliwa Saponi Tribal School, Hollister, NC

  3. Catherine Edmonds, New Hanover High School, Wilmington, NC

  4. Tamara Gurganus, Bertie High School, Windsor, NC

  5. Sherrill Jolly, South Brunswick High School, Southport, NC

  6. Merry Noyes, Fuquay‐Varina High School, Fuquay‐Varina, NC

  7. Christy Rivers, Ashe County High School, West Jefferson, NC

Most areas of the state are represented; here’s a map showing where the scholarship winners teach:

2016 teachers geographical spread

Thanks to everyone on the scholarship committee for all the hard work they did to select the winners (Danielle Christmas, Ronnie Jackson, Pamela Fitzpatrick, and Claire Horne), and to everyone on the silent auction committee (Susan Buonocore, Gisele Rankin, Ronnie Jackson, and Danielle Christmas) for raising the money for the scholarship fund!  

Thank you also to the North Carolina Humanities Council for their Grassroots Grant allowing us to invite additional teachers (and to Susan Buonocore and James Thompson for writing the application).

Terri O’Quin, Chair of Scholarships and Silent Auctions


bottom of page